Paleo Garlic Mashed Turnips

Again, another recipe based off what I had lying around. I’ve recently discovered turnips and all of their glorious awesomeness and I’ve always been a huuuuge fan of garlic. I was making Paleo Herbed Chicken Wings and I wanted a side to go with it and I had the turnips and garlic lying around, so that’s how they came to be. There’s bacon in these. I put bacon in and on everything. If you omit the bacon, this is a vegan/vegetarian paleo recipe. Roll with it.

5 medium turnips

3 cloves garlic (more or less to taste)

1 tbsp coconut oil

2 strips cooked bacon

________________

peel the turnips and cut them into one inch cubes

place in boiling water for abotu 10 minutes or until soft

drain the water

add the garlic, coconut oil and baconto the turnips and mash using a masher, fork, beater, whatever, until they are your desired consistency.

Since turnips have a sort of ‘horseradishy’ taste, these will have a super-strong flavor that goes reallly well with the wings.

turnips pre-mash

2 thoughts on “Paleo Garlic Mashed Turnips

  1. I’ve never had mashed turnips before… actually, I don’t think I’ve ever had turnips in general before. I’ll have to try them, because this looks so good! Definitly a delicious alternative to regular old mashed potatoes!

Leave a Reply

